Click here to return to the home page.
Image of a road.
Who's Online
20 registered (Burgundymog, deano, RedThree, Sportster, Tresco, Malcolm T, Tim W, jeremylparker, Rog G, Lowflyer, IcePack, HJP, MarkB, Guten, +8Rich, MOG42, BLG83, Clipper, RoyH, hugo), 71 Guests and 96 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Photos
Morgan meets Transformers
Spotted hiding at Henry Moore Foundation
Bury St Ed and the Krazy Horse
Spotted in Cyprus today
French highway, recently
Newest Topics
An all electric future!
by Gambalunga
17/10/17 02:11 PM
Live feed for Nautilus horn
by John V6
17/10/17 01:48 PM
Fan Switch
by Craig Jezzard69
17/10/17 11:38 AM
Fires in Portugal
by Gambalunga
17/10/17 08:59 AM
Malvern to Moscow car badge
by Alan Patterson
17/10/17 07:33 AM
Battery removal on plus 8
by RedFlash
16/10/17 07:01 PM
Sean Hughes RIP.
by +8Rich
16/10/17 05:33 PM
Newest Members
velociphiles, Landiman, Neil Marsay, 44mog, KennethM
5738 Registered Users
Shout Box

Forum Stats
5,738 Registered Members
33 Forums
29,962 Topics
467,388 Posts

Most users ever online: 260 @ 23/08/17 09:25 PM
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Topic Options
#476249 - 09/10/17 11:36 AM Replacement Lambda Sensors - Black Top Zetec 1.8
minikeefy Offline
Talk Morgan Regular

Registered: 13/05/08
Posts: 989
Loc: Nth. Bucks, England
I have received the following from a member of the LM62 Register living in Florence and would be good to get some feedback..

I wonder if you or somebody of our group can shine some light for me regarding the Lambda probes. Unfortunately this has always been the weak part of my Morgan and I have to change them every one or two years.

In the Morgan there are two such probes as required by law since year 2000 if I am not wrong. They look a little different, the lower one (blue cable) being a little smaller than the green one (upper probe).

Reading the information found on internet it seems that all the probes with four wires (two white one black and one grey) provide the same signal 0-1 Volt. So why they are different?

The question arises from two facts:
1) the lambda probes I find in internet for Ford engine 1800 (zetec) are much cheaper than what a mechanic would make me pay in Italy,
2) the probes listed for sale do not make any difference for upper or lower and I cannot find anymore probes with green and blue wires covering as the original. (NOTE FROM MINIKEEFY - they are listed in UK though)

Moreover I run into some device to neutralize the signal from the probe to the electronics and also some fuel additive probe detergent. How good these are? anybody has tested?
_________________________
Keith

Car 54 - 'Le Mans 62' 4/4 Supersport
OxMog Member (and associated with CranMog and SwanMog)

Top
#476261 - 09/10/17 01:05 PM Re: Replacement Lambda Sensors - Black Top Zetec 1.8 [Re: minikeefy]
BuyBritish Offline
Learner Plates Off!

Registered: 17/01/13
Posts: 303
Loc: UK
Get a vintage morgan no lamda sensors or any other EU enforced controls just a raw engine!
_________________________
Rob Davies
Morgan Series 1 1947 (Standard Special)
Morgan +4 1958 (TR4)
Morgan +4 2000 (T16 Rover)

Top
#476282 - 09/10/17 04:40 PM Re: Replacement Lambda Sensors - Black Top Zetec 1.8 [Re: minikeefy]
+8Rich Online   happy

Member of the Inner Circle

Registered: 15/12/09
Posts: 12155
Loc: Devon UK

Not too sure how helpful that's going to be in Florence with his present LE model car Rob wink.

meabh has very recent experience of these sensors on his Roadster in case that could help.
_________________________
Richard
1999 Indigo +8






Top
#476319 - 09/10/17 06:51 PM Re: Replacement Lambda Sensors - Black Top Zetec 1.8 [Re: minikeefy]
Rog Offline

Talk Morgan Regular

Registered: 31/05/12
Posts: 629
Loc: Sumerset
I put one of these cheapies in the front position a couple of weeks back. Didn’t know what to expect but its working well with a nice fast response time. Never replaced the rear before but believe they are similar devices. I just assumed that the blue/green colour coding of the connectors was to aid the gentleman at Kwick fit connect things up correctly as the two sensors perform completely different functions within the ecu.
_________________________
Roger
2006 4/4 Duratec

Top
#476594 - 11/10/17 08:38 AM Re: Replacement Lambda Sensors - Black Top Zetec 1.8 [Re: minikeefy]
meabh Offline

Talk Morgan Enthusiast

Registered: 01/03/09
Posts: 1639
Loc: southwest France
Keith, Meabh here: I changed my pre cat sensor recently at 9000 miles due to a slow response signal and they do now have four wires. There is info on the net. As your friend says, they are expensive and cheaper ones can be bought - mine were £189 all told. As my engine is the Escape I had to be reminded that it is normally not in-line and bare that in mind when looking at videos.
BHM were very helpful as usual.

Top
#476595 - 11/10/17 08:44 AM Re: Replacement Lambda Sensors - Black Top Zetec 1.8 [Re: meabh]
Budster Offline

Charter Member

Registered: 07/08/11
Posts: 5415
Loc: Devon
Originally Posted By meabh
Keith, Meabh here: I changed my pre cat sensor recently at 9000 miles due to a slow response signal and they do now have four wires. There is info on the net. As your friend says, they are expensive and cheaper ones can be bought - mine were £189 all told. As my engine is the Escape I had to be reminded that it is normally not in-line and bare that in mind when looking at videos.
BHM were very helpful as usual.


How did you know there was a slow response signal? What were the issues with your 4/4?
_________________________
Bud
4/4 "Stanley"

Top
#476729 - 11/10/17 09:41 PM Re: Replacement Lambda Sensors - Black Top Zetec 1.8 [Re: minikeefy]
meabh Offline

Talk Morgan Enthusiast

Registered: 01/03/09
Posts: 1639
Loc: southwest France
Bud
I used a code reader because the MIL kept illuminating - it's a Roadster.

Top
#476746 - 12/10/17 09:45 AM Re: Replacement Lambda Sensors - Black Top Zetec 1.8 [Re: minikeefy]
Geir Karlsen Offline
L - Learner Plates On

Registered: 22/03/10
Posts: 138
Loc: Norway
Hi,

Both mine were replaced during last service.
I have the old ones at home. I tried to add picture size 622kb but the forum does not allow me to?
They were replaced by some aftermarket units, the garage spliced the wires with the original plastic sockets.
I plan to register the part number of the original units when I get back from my business trip.
Wish I knew which was located where as they are a bit different.


Edited by Geir Karlsen (12/10/17 09:50 AM)
_________________________
4/4 2 seater 2001 model

Top

Moderator:  Aeroman, Boshly, Simon