Click here to return to the home page.
Morgan Aero 8
Who's Online Now
17 registered members (Tally Ho, DJC, Paulxj, M3W55, TimG, V8HENRY, IMHO, twotribes, capta2, Richard Wood, SimonH, TBM, Neilda, BLUE+4, RJW, Gambalunga, andymot), 213 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Top Posters(30 Days)
+8Rich 438
John V6 432
TBM 236
Heinz 188
Newest Topics
One in a million catch.
by Sportster. 06/06/20 09:30 PM
F1 Quiz
by hugo. 06/06/20 07:30 PM
Homemade Side Screen bag
by MartinNico. 06/06/20 12:43 PM
First trip, first break down
by Marmota. 06/06/20 12:24 PM
Fabulous Aeromax
by +8Rich. 06/06/20 08:29 AM
Sidescreens for 96 +4 2 seater
by Mogdriver. 06/06/20 08:07 AM
Steeriing gaiter split
by Mats. 06/06/20 07:38 AM
Latest Photos
Drive out before the rain
Hard Top Badge
Glove box net
sump/crossmember guard
The great escape
Newest Members
jaktomaten, Bewifourfour, Sam8888, Brilliant Green, ninrum
6938 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums34
Topics38,433
Posts630,103
Members6,938
Most Online1,033
Dec 28th, 2019
Today's Birthdays
NWVT
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Where do I add oil. S2 4.4 V8 #512741
11/05/18 03:01 PM
11/05/18 03:01 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,139
Hampshire
Alistair Offline OP
Smile, it confuses them
Alistair  Offline OP
Smile, it confuses them
Talk Morgan Guru

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,139
Hampshire


Having a nice day out and the oil light pops up. Checked the dipstick (car flat and warm if I am right?) opened the bonnets and darned if I can spot the oil filler, has anyone got a pic they can share with the filler on it!


Just time to burn a little more petrol before dinner.
Re: Where do I add oil. S2 4.4 V8 [Re: Alistair] #512756
11/05/18 03:42 PM
11/05/18 03:42 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,443
A
aerotaff Offline
Has a lot to Say!
aerotaff  Offline
Has a lot to Say!
A

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,443
The oil filler is the black square top next to the dipstick it will have an oil can printed on the top surface ,just unscrew.

Em

Re: Where do I add oil. S2 4.4 V8 [Re: Alistair] #512757
11/05/18 03:45 PM
11/05/18 03:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 23,761
Devonshire
+8Rich Offline
Member of the Inner Circle
+8Rich  Offline
Member of the Inner Circle

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 23,761
Devonshire
Drivers side bonnet towards the front it looks like on this picture. Careful not to drop it in the engine bay apparently they can disappear very easily.



Regards Richard

1999 Indigo Blue +8
2009 4/4 Sport Green prev
1994 Connaught Green +8 prev





Re: Where do I add oil. S2 4.4 V8 [Re: Alistair] #512758
11/05/18 03:46 PM
11/05/18 03:46 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,139
Hampshire
Alistair Offline OP
Smile, it confuses them
Alistair  Offline OP
Smile, it confuses them
Talk Morgan Guru

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,139
Hampshire
Thanks peeps, will pop out and check now. Darned if I could spot it.


Just time to burn a little more petrol before dinner.
Re: Where do I add oil. S2 4.4 V8 [Re: Alistair] #512763
11/05/18 04:30 PM
11/05/18 04:30 PM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 6,935
Llanelli
sospan Offline
Talk Morgan Sage
sospan  Offline
Talk Morgan Sage

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 6,935
Llanelli
Hopefully the light will go out after a top up.
On my Kia I had to take the car to a dealer who cleared it. No charge. The oil level was just on/under the MIN. So quite sensitive. Same as the TPMS!


Red Plus8
Re: Where do I add oil. S2 4.4 V8 [Re: Alistair] #512768
11/05/18 05:07 PM
11/05/18 05:07 PM
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 16
North Wales
moggywills Offline
New to Talk Morgan
moggywills  Offline
New to Talk Morgan

Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 16
North Wales
Funny that just bought a series 3 drove it home 250 miles no problem. Went out next day after 30 miles oil light on then off on bends. Thinking its low on oil I checked dipstick on level ground but as the oil was so clean job to see level over minimum mark - So checked hand book says 7.5ltr with filter change. Dropped the oil & filter and used best Fuchs 5-30W . Having put 8 litres in the oil is only have way up the dipstick! So added another litre and its still not on the Max mark. Afraid to put anymore in as I know too much oil can cause issues.
Anyone with similiar experience or advise ?
Still Not sure until I have a run out if its a faulty Oil switch as 7ltr of old oil came out.!! Oh and the oil filler cap entry point is on the off side front and yes be careful when handling imagine it will be hard to retrieve if dropped past the engine bay


2006 Morgan Aero 8 Series 3 Green
2018 Mercedes GLC 350 Coupe AMG
2015 Countryman Cooper S ALL 4
Re: Where do I add oil. S2 4.4 V8 [Re: Alistair] #512769
11/05/18 05:10 PM
11/05/18 05:10 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,394
Newcastle Upon Tyne
James B W Offline
Has a lot to Say!
James B W  Offline
Has a lot to Say!

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,394
Newcastle Upon Tyne
this is the oil filler on the Series 1, 4.4Ltr., V8 Alistair -



you can see it's towards the front and to the right.

I replaced the BMW black plastic cap with a nicer S/S one - more to polish... ooo

James


Aero8 , Series 1 - Boston Green
Range Rover Evoque S
Smart Brabus Convertible
Re: Where do I add oil. S2 4.4 V8 [Re: Alistair] #512772
11/05/18 05:22 PM
11/05/18 05:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,443
A
aerotaff Offline
Has a lot to Say!
aerotaff  Offline
Has a lot to Say!
A

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,443
Mogywils.I think we met a couple of weeks ago in Bala if not welcome to the Aero section anyway.


Emyr

Re: Where do I add oil. S2 4.4 V8 [Re: Alistair] #512774
11/05/18 05:59 PM
11/05/18 05:59 PM
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,497
Taunton
deano Offline
Charter Member
deano  Offline
Charter Member

Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,497
Taunton
Unusal for the engine to use that amount of oil to bring on the oil light!


Martin (Deano)
Re: Where do I add oil. S2 4.4 V8 [Re: Alistair] #512824
12/05/18 08:18 AM
12/05/18 08:18 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,443
A
aerotaff Offline
Has a lot to Say!
aerotaff  Offline
Has a lot to Say!
A

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,443
Just found my handbook it says 7.5 litres,if youve put nine litres in thats seriously overfilled maybe the previous owner replaced a lost dipstick with the wrong one.You will have pressure build up in the sump the crankshaft will tend to froth the oil up and seal failures.DONT drive it measure the dipstick,and we can compare.


EM

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Aeroman, Simon 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1