Click here to return to the home page.
Morgan Aero 8
Who's Online
9 registered (Michael P, OZ 4/4, BobtheTrain, MarioCP, Moggo, Andrew Kidney, pandy, DJC, 60Yards), 87 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Photos
Rodger's M3W oil cooler
Bonesies new car :
4/4 80th Anniversary
Dunnottar Moonrise
Rodger's M3W
Newest Topics
Wanted: Rebound springs
by sid
20/02/19 10:09 PM
Anyone tried these razor blades
by Jack The Lad
20/02/19 05:45 PM
morgan .jpg
by chrivi
20/02/19 05:27 PM
Happy Birthday Button you legend
by +8Rich
20/02/19 04:42 PM
Picture of 4 wheeled M3W wanted
by PaulJ
20/02/19 02:29 PM
oil cooler installation
by rcmatt
20/02/19 01:40 PM
Fitting a valance to my +4
by tommog
20/02/19 11:08 AM
Newest Members
lysholmn1, LightSpeed, David Gibson, thelastgizmo, Shadmog
6386 Registered Users
Shout Box

Forum Stats
6,386 Registered Members
33 Forums
34,278 Topics
550,488 Posts

Most users ever online: 341 @ 11/02/18 10:30 PM
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Topic Options
#556884 - 31/01/19 07:04 AM Upgrading from S3 to S5, audio query
Gareth H Offline
Just Getting Started

Registered: 29/07/18
Posts: 81
Loc: Salisbury Plain
Gents, Any advice please, I've seen a nice S5 and have decided to upgrade from my S3, the S5 has an aux in but no head unit, is there a simple way to get a radio input?
The S3 will be going SOR, if anybody is looking for one I could do an attractive deal before it is placed.
Thanks
Gareth
_________________________
Gareth
Aero 8
R Nine T
335d
BMW Power!

Top
#556957 - 31/01/19 02:39 PM Re: Upgrading from S3 to S5, audio query [Re: Gareth H]
Scarper Offline
New to Talk Morgan

Registered: 10/09/18
Posts: 5
Hi Gareth
That’s a really good question, I’ve got a S5 Aero 8 and have never understood how the system works !
However with such a lovely soundtrack from the exhaust pipes who need music.
Look forward to any replies and advice
Cheers Dave

Top
#556967 - 31/01/19 03:20 PM Re: Upgrading from S3 to S5, audio query [Re: Gareth H]
asbojohn Offline
le Asbo du Bling
Talk Morgan Addict

Registered: 23/07/07
Posts: 3734
Loc: Cambridgeshire
I put a concealed head unit in mine and connected directly to the amp. All runs off a remote.
_________________________
Slowly going green

Top
#556977 - 31/01/19 03:58 PM Re: Upgrading from S3 to S5, audio query [Re: asbojohn]
Gareth H Offline
Just Getting Started

Registered: 29/07/18
Posts: 81
Loc: Salisbury Plain
Originally Posted By asbojohn
I put a concealed head unit in mine and connected directly to the amp. All runs off a remote.


I did wonder about that, did you put it in the glove box?


Edited by Gareth H (31/01/19 03:59 PM)
_________________________
Gareth
Aero 8
R Nine T
335d
BMW Power!

Top
#557022 - 31/01/19 06:50 PM Re: Upgrading from S3 to S5, audio query [Re: Gareth H]
NickCW Offline
Has a lot to Say!

Registered: 20/02/16
Posts: 1094
Loc: Buckinghamshire
There were two options on the S5, a visible touchscreen unit and dash with toggles in place instead which I can only presume houses a stereo from the literature on Morgan's site, although it is not clear!

If the latter I presume there must be a physical unit hidden somewhere that you could plug into, or make an extension for any connections you might need.
_________________________
Aero 8 S1

"What we do in life.. echoes in eternity."

Top
#557025 - 31/01/19 07:08 PM Re: Upgrading from S3 to S5, audio query [Re: Gareth H]
asbojohn Offline
le Asbo du Bling
Talk Morgan Addict

Registered: 23/07/07
Posts: 3734
Loc: Cambridgeshire
The touchscreen was an option from MMC I didn’t think it would work in direct sun so opted out.

I fitted a head unit under the glove box tucked up in the rear of the footwell and the plug in with a usb. Bluetooth controller for volume etc and an old school remote for channel etc.

You might be able to fit a retro radio unit in the glove box as the dials are pug in but you’d need to extend the cables.
_________________________
Slowly going green

Top
#557039 - 31/01/19 08:18 PM Re: Upgrading from S3 to S5, audio query [Re: asbojohn]
TheCustomer Offline

Talk Morgan Regular

Registered: 13/09/15
Posts: 671
I followed Asbojohn's route - and spec.

As I listen mostly to pre recorded music (rather than radio) I use a DAC player. It's hand-held, so
the passenger DJ can see what they're playing. The extra grunt of the DAC puts some depth into the sound... so you can actually hear it on the open road.

I suppose I could also put the DAC straight into the AUX socket in the glovebox, which I presume goes straight into the factory fit amp in the footwell.

Will
_________________________
the *other* green Aero 8 S5

Top
#557049 - 31/01/19 09:46 PM Re: Upgrading from S3 to S5, audio query [Re: Gareth H]
Shooter Offline

Has a lot to Say!

Registered: 06/09/07
Posts: 1437
Loc: Oreton, Shropshire
I have the Touchscreen system in my S5 and a regular head unit in the GTN.

I tend to listen to talk radio more in cars or sometimes just let it run music through the Bluetooth link with the iPhone.

I have to say, the nav system in the touchscreen unit is the best I've tried. I have had various garmin units since 2000 and have 2 currently and a tomtom for the bikes and once I got used to the different way it works it has become my favourite. Mind you, I have a new system to learn on my latest toy which has another system to get used too!
_________________________
Aero 8 GTN. #10
Aero 8 S5.... #10

Top

Moderator:  Aeroman, Boshly, Simon