Click here to return to the home page.
Image of a road.
Who's Online Now
17 registered members (GIB, DaveK, IMHO, flyfisher, Dougie, Themorganeer, Paul F, Image, mph, RedThree, MR11MOG, Perry_P_M3W, kennethjoh, Gerhard, PaulV, John07, Spanner Juggler), 166 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Top Posters(30 Days)
+8Rich 395
John V6 353
Hawki 126
Alistair 125
Newest Topics
Chassis paint
by michaelclifford. 05/08/20 03:04 PM
Spitting Image returning on Britbox
by +8Rich. 05/08/20 02:20 PM
Tesla touch screen controls.
by Scrambledsignals. 05/08/20 01:19 PM
Morgan 7” wiper blade
by MR11MOG. 05/08/20 01:15 PM
Bespoke 7” wiper blades.
by MR11MOG. 05/08/20 01:13 PM
INCREDIBLE - One in a million?
by Marmota. 05/08/20 01:05 PM
MOT Test Centre Search
by IMHO. 05/08/20 08:28 AM
Latest Photos
riding through the montains
SNOWDONIA B4407/A543
GTN Soft top re-fitted
GTN Visors
A Great Escape to Orford & Snape Maltings
Newest Members
WLPM, Lilliput, Andrew1806, RBooth, Martien
7087 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums34
Topics38,987
Posts641,695
Members7,087
Most Online1,033
Dec 28th, 2019
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
2011 Plus 4 Speedo not working #602118
03/11/19 04:25 PM
03/11/19 04:25 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 787
Lampeter, Wales
Jon G4LJW Offline OP
Talk Morgan Regular
Jon G4LJW  Offline OP
Talk Morgan Regular

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 787
Lampeter, Wales
I think I've altered something when starting the car this afternoon.

I inadvertently pressed the Trip Reset button too early, before the instruments came to life properly. A 6-digit number was displayed on the odometer/trip display, and I tried to get rid of it by pressing the button a couple of times.

I started off, and soon realised the speedo needle was hardly moving, and after maybe 20 miles, the trip meter was reading just over 2 miles.

Looking at the 6-digit number when I got back, it is showing 109386. I'm pretty sure it started with a "0" before I messed it up, and one of the other digits has changed, but not sure which one.

Any thoughts?


Last edited by Jon G4LJW; 03/11/19 04:26 PM.
Re: 2011 Plus 4 Speedo not working [Re: Jon G4LJW] #602123
03/11/19 04:57 PM
03/11/19 04:57 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 708
Antwerpen Belgium
stefan s Offline
Talk Morgan Regular
stefan s  Offline
Talk Morgan Regular

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 708
Antwerpen Belgium
Jon, you activated the system to calibrate the speedometer. I found the speedomanuel on the internet and when using an gps , it is very easy to calibrate again. I have the details on my work. Can send it tomorrow if you want.

Stefan

Re: 2011 Plus 4 Speedo not working [Re: stefan s] #602124
03/11/19 05:01 PM
03/11/19 05:01 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 787
Lampeter, Wales
Jon G4LJW Offline OP
Talk Morgan Regular
Jon G4LJW  Offline OP
Talk Morgan Regular

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 787
Lampeter, Wales
Originally Posted by stefan s
Jon, you activated the system to calibrate the speedometer. I found the speedomanuel on the internet and when using an gps , it is very easy to calibrate again. I have the details on my work. Can send it tomorrow if you want.

Stefan


That would be very kind, thank you Stefan!

Re: 2011 Plus 4 Speedo not working [Re: Jon G4LJW] #602125
03/11/19 05:04 PM
03/11/19 05:04 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 13,344
Mandello del Lario
Gambalunga Offline
Member of the Inner Circle
Gambalunga  Offline
Member of the Inner Circle

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 13,344
Mandello del Lario
I'm not sure but I think you may have mucked up the speedo calibration.

Have a look at http://www.talkmorgan.com/ubbthreads.php/topics/407448/1

I list the instructions for a Smiths Electronic Speedometer in that post.


Peter

[Linked Image]
Re: 2011 Plus 4 Speedo not working [Re: Gambalunga] #602126
03/11/19 05:12 PM
03/11/19 05:12 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 787
Lampeter, Wales
Jon G4LJW Offline OP
Talk Morgan Regular
Jon G4LJW  Offline OP
Talk Morgan Regular

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 787
Lampeter, Wales
Originally Posted by Gambalunga
I'm not sure but I think you may have mucked up the speedo calibration.

Have a look at http://www.talkmorgan.com/ubbthreads.php/topics/407448/1

I list the instructions for a Smiths Electronic Speedometer in that post.


Thanks Peter - I think that's the easiest for me to use, as you say, "...Spanner Juggler for a Plus 4 used 008386..." - which means I've only changed the 1st and 3rd digits.

It's dark here now, so I'll have a go at changing it back tomorrow - and it's another reason for driving again!

grin2

Re: 2011 Plus 4 Speedo not working [Re: Jon G4LJW] #602218
04/11/19 01:59 PM
04/11/19 01:59 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 787
Lampeter, Wales
Jon G4LJW Offline OP
Talk Morgan Regular
Jon G4LJW  Offline OP
Talk Morgan Regular

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 787
Lampeter, Wales
Hi - I adjusted the setting to read 008386, by changing 2 of the digits, and then waiting for the display change to the normal mileage display. Seems to be back to normal, after checking around one of my normal routes, where I know the distances very well, and there are a couple of radar-activated speed signs.

Thanks for the help!

Re: 2011 Plus 4 Speedo not working [Re: Jon G4LJW] #603493
14/11/19 07:18 AM
14/11/19 07:18 AM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 252
north yorkshire
L
Lowflyer Offline
Learner Plates Off!
Lowflyer  Offline
Learner Plates Off!
L

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 252
north yorkshire
Have look on the caerbont website , instructions are on there

Re: 2011 Plus 4 Speedo not working [Re: Jon G4LJW] #603494
14/11/19 07:30 AM
14/11/19 07:30 AM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 252
north yorkshire
L
Lowflyer Offline
Learner Plates Off!
Lowflyer  Offline
Learner Plates Off!
L

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 252
north yorkshire
Have look on the caerbont website , instructions are on there. You can use your sat nav to check/cal

Re: 2011 Plus 4 Speedo not working [Re: Lowflyer] #603691
15/11/19 08:04 PM
15/11/19 08:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 787
Lampeter, Wales
Jon G4LJW Offline OP
Talk Morgan Regular
Jon G4LJW  Offline OP
Talk Morgan Regular

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 787
Lampeter, Wales
Originally Posted by Lowflyer
Have look on the caerbont website , instructions are on there. You can use your sat nav to check/cal


Thanks - it seems back to normal now anyway!


Moderated by  Aeroman, Simon 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1