Click here to return to the home page.
Image of a road.
Who's Online Now
4 registered members (Alan Patterson, petemog, RobCol, tmg513), 254 guests, and 38 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Top Posters(30 Days)
+8Rich 385
John V6 327
CooperMan 131
Alistair 123
Newest Topics
Rusty rear brake pistons. Again.....
by Rog. 13/08/20 08:52 PM
flying south
by howard. 13/08/20 05:59 PM
Trad Wiper Blades
by Peter J. 13/08/20 04:19 PM
What’s my Plus 8 worth
by Viper. 13/08/20 02:53 PM
The size of container ships
by John V6. 13/08/20 01:46 PM
Propshaft greasing
by Riverstar. 13/08/20 09:34 AM
Big Up for Gott and Wynne
by Spanner Juggler. 13/08/20 07:53 AM
Latest Photos
Sunnier times ahead
riding through the montains
SNOWDONIA B4407/A543
GTN Soft top re-fitted
GTN Visors
Newest Members
Jim5961, Renat, StephanCarstens, Allthegearnoidea, David Aldridge
7099 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums34
Topics39,070
Posts643,306
Members7,099
Most Online1,033
Dec 28th, 2019
Today's Birthdays
2to3wheels
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Brake pressure switch #647991
02/07/20 09:25 AM
02/07/20 09:25 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 17,102
Suffolk
John V6 Offline OP
Member of the Inner Circle
John V6  Offline OP
Member of the Inner Circle

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 17,102
Suffolk
Nickplus 4 spotted yesterday that my brakes lights weren't working.
I by passed the pressure switch & they did.
Fortunately I had a spare switch donated by Cooperman. Type Intermotor 51610.

You need a 22 mm spanner & check that the 4 way connector is fitted properly. He switch should come with a new copper washer.
Gomog advice

I did a flying change and lost very little fluid. The brakes now work fine & whilst I was prepared to bleed them they didn't need it.
I washed away the spilt fluid to be safe as it attacks paint.

In future I will test the lights more regularly.


JohnV6
2006 Indigo Blue Roadster S1
Re: Brake pressure switch [Re: John V6] #647997
02/07/20 09:43 AM
02/07/20 09:43 AM
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 2,844
East Harling, Norfolk UK
Richard Wood Offline
Talk Morgan Expert
Richard Wood  Offline
Talk Morgan Expert

Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 2,844
East Harling, Norfolk UK
Got away the same with my Land Rover when the teminals on old one broke off when fitting new loom. Hardly any fluid lost and brakes worked fine after one longer than normal push.

I believe these pressure switches normally have a taper thread with no provision or need for copper washer. Yours may be different however.

Last edited by Richard Wood; 02/07/20 09:44 AM.

Richard

2018 Roadster - Red/Magnolia - "Morton"
1966 Land Rover series 2a SWB
1960 Velocette Venom
Re: Brake pressure switch [Re: John V6] #648003
02/07/20 10:30 AM
02/07/20 10:30 AM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,974
Solihull
Spanner Juggler Offline
Talk Morgan Expert
Spanner Juggler  Offline
Talk Morgan Expert

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,974
Solihull
Depends Richard, some are taper for sure but most I have changed have had the copper washer, sadly not all replacement switches come with a new copper washer. If they do drip a little after reusing the original washer it’s simple enough to anneal the old one and reuse. There was a time when there was a plague of these things failing and reports were almost weekly of someone’s switches failing. I thought it was down to poor fluid changes and water absorption but after cutting one switch open the contacts were not even copper! Just bent bits of aluminium ’tat’ metal. As it’s been quieter on the subject in recent years, and I don’t think its only down to the move to mechanical switches, I wonder if the build quality has improved? I doubt everyone has fitted a relay in the circuit?

BR
Colin


BR Colin
Who used to be a Spanner Juggler
Re: Brake pressure switch [Re: John V6] #648014
02/07/20 11:19 AM
02/07/20 11:19 AM
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 2,461
Yorkshire
CooperMan Offline
Talk Morgan Expert
CooperMan  Offline
Talk Morgan Expert

Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 2,461
Yorkshire
John, the OE one didn't come with a washer so I raided my stock & enclosed a new one just in case smile


Jon M
Re: Brake pressure switch [Re: John V6] #648015
02/07/20 11:26 AM
02/07/20 11:26 AM
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 2,844
East Harling, Norfolk UK
Richard Wood Offline
Talk Morgan Expert
Richard Wood  Offline
Talk Morgan Expert

Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 2,844
East Harling, Norfolk UK
Yes the same news on Land Rover forums although it seems to have died back a little so maybe a cheap batch from the east. I would always favour a decent brake switch and no relay as original ones lasted long enough. It's only 3 - 4 amps they have to switch and the extra wiring plus relay become counter productive in reliability stakes. Fitting LED replacements is another option of course.


Richard

2018 Roadster - Red/Magnolia - "Morton"
1966 Land Rover series 2a SWB
1960 Velocette Venom
Re: Brake pressure switch [Re: John V6] #648018
02/07/20 11:32 AM
02/07/20 11:32 AM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 853
A
Arwyn Williams Offline
Talk Morgan Regular
Arwyn Williams  Offline
Talk Morgan Regular
A

Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 853
Did a brake light switch change on a well known racing Mog in a similar fashion during one of the Birkett 6 Hour Relay Races at Silverstone.

Managed to get it through scrutineering before changing the switch with the aid of two long lengths of wire!!

Arwyn

Re: Brake pressure switch [Re: Richard Wood] #648033
02/07/20 12:01 PM
02/07/20 12:01 PM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,974
Solihull
Spanner Juggler Offline
Talk Morgan Expert
Spanner Juggler  Offline
Talk Morgan Expert

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,974
Solihull
Originally Posted by Richard Wood
Yes the same news on Land Rover forums although it seems to have died back a little so maybe a cheap batch from the east. I would always favour a decent brake switch and no relay as original ones lasted long enough. It's only 3 - 4 amps they have to switch and the extra wiring plus relay become counter productive in reliability stakes. Fitting LED replacements is another option of course.


Unless of course you have a high wattage Cyclops in the circuit. LED’s are certainly the way to go, Tim put me on to a good supplier of high output LED replacements for the 380’s, makes a huge difference in brightness.


BR Colin
Who used to be a Spanner Juggler
Re: Brake pressure switch [Re: Arwyn Williams] #648035
02/07/20 12:03 PM
02/07/20 12:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,974
Solihull
Spanner Juggler Offline
Talk Morgan Expert
Spanner Juggler  Offline
Talk Morgan Expert

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,974
Solihull
Originally Posted by Arwyn Williams
Did a brake light switch change on a well known racing Mog in a similar fashion during one of the Birkett 6 Hour Relay Races at Silverstone.

Managed to get it through scrutineering before changing the switch with the aid of two long lengths of wire!!

Arwyn


Bet you learnt that from your rally days. Flick switch on the brake lights for ‘Plot and Bash’ sections in case the car behind caught up and started driving on your lights..... Me? Never 😜😜


BR Colin
Who used to be a Spanner Juggler
Re: Brake pressure switch [Re: John V6] #648041
02/07/20 12:13 PM
02/07/20 12:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 18,608
South Yorkshire
DaveW Offline
Roadster Guru
DaveW  Offline
Roadster Guru
Member of the Inner Circle

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 18,608
South Yorkshire
I put a relay in my Roadster ten years ago and it still works fine..........................


DaveW
2005 Corsa Red Roadster S1
2016 Saffron Yellow (Narrow) AR Plus 4
Re: Brake pressure switch [Re: CooperMan] #648045
02/07/20 12:18 PM
02/07/20 12:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 17,102
Suffolk
John V6 Offline OP
Member of the Inner Circle
John V6  Offline OP
Member of the Inner Circle

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 17,102
Suffolk
Originally Posted by CooperMan
John, the OE one didn't come with a washer so I raided my stock & enclosed a new one just in case smile

Cheers. I appreciate that.


JohnV6
2006 Indigo Blue Roadster S1
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Aeroman, Simon 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1