Click here to return to the home page.
Morgan Aero 8
Who's Online Now
23 registered members (2017 Betty, DirkM, TBM, +8Rich, jpeck, Leroy, Robin Askew, JoeSpeetjens, John Winn, JohnHarris, bmgermany, stefan s, Marmota, Heinz, Moggo, James B W, Peter J, Mick Annick, rv6, DaveW, Snowden, Image, DavidR), 127 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Top Posters(30 Days)
+8Rich 351
John V6 290
Alistair 161
Peter J 142
Newest Topics
Alternative to chrome wires
by jpeck. 24/01/21 05:01 PM
Rear wheel studs
by G Walker. 24/01/21 04:59 PM
Jigsaw
by David_E. 24/01/21 03:49 PM
Holtznek
by meabh. 24/01/21 03:41 PM
Oh dear another curve ball
by +8Rich. 24/01/21 12:57 PM
Wire wheel silvery colour 1986 car
by Neil49. 24/01/21 01:19 AM
Latest Photos
Another High Level brake light
Morgan puzzle made to order
TOK 258 drawings
Two Approaches to the Easy Up Hood Stay
Vaccine is totally safe
Newest Members
dodol, John Welch, CityGarage, Uzi, 1thebeano
7333 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums34
Topics40,332
Posts672,053
Members7,333
Most Online1,033
Dec 28th, 2019
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: Aero 8 Tyre sensor [Re: Shooter] #353178
04/04/16 06:27 PM
04/04/16 06:27 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,542
Newcastle Upon Tyne
James B W Online content
Talk Morgan Enthusiast
James B W  Online Content
Talk Morgan Enthusiast

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,542
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Originally Posted By Shooter
BMW also sell the complete sensor for the Aero too!


can you give a little more info. please Shooter confused2

Is it the 'same' sensor or a similar one which can be programmed to the in-car system/readout?

Do you have any details re. the BMW model number and an idea of price....?

I suspect there could a rush on of Aero8 owners to the local BMW dealership laugh

James thumbs


Aero8 , Series 1 - Boston Green
Range Rover Evoque S
Smart Brabus Convertible
Honda Monkey Z125
Re: Aero 8 Tyre sensor [Re: James B W] #353192
04/04/16 07:30 PM
04/04/16 07:30 PM
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,635
Buckinghamshire
NickCW Offline
Talk Morgan Enthusiast
NickCW  Offline
Talk Morgan Enthusiast

Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,635
Buckinghamshire
Originally Posted By JBW
Originally Posted By Shooter
BMW also sell the complete sensor for the Aero too!


can you give a little more info. please Shooter confused2

Is it the 'same' sensor or a similar one which can be programmed to the in-car system/readout?

Do you have any details re. the BMW model number and an idea of price....?

I suspect there could a rush on of Aero8 owners to the local BMW dealership laugh

James thumbs


If they are well priced I might pick some up for spares! thumbs


Aero 8 S1
M3W - Green Shark

"What we do in life.. echoes in eternity."
Re: Aero 8 Tyre sensor [Re: Malcolm Hoar] #353233
04/04/16 10:12 PM
04/04/16 10:12 PM
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 841
Upminster, Essex
simonjrw Offline
Talk Morgan Regular
simonjrw  Offline
Talk Morgan Regular

Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 841
Upminster, Essex
There you go
http://youtu.be/Mpjz0cDjnK4
You'll have to tell me if it's the same monitor....


Series 1 Aero 8
Re: Aero 8 Tyre sensor [Re: Malcolm Hoar] #353556
06/04/16 11:10 AM
06/04/16 11:10 AM
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Auckland New Zealand
Gover Offline
New to Talk Morgan
Gover  Offline
New to Talk Morgan

Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Auckland New Zealand
Any reason we'd suspect the BMW R1200RT sensors mentioned in the above video wouldn't be the same sensors on an S3?


S3 Aero 8
Auckland, NZ
Re: Aero 8 Tyre sensor [Re: Malcolm Hoar] #661428
10/09/20 11:12 AM
10/09/20 11:12 AM
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 22
North Wales
moggywills Offline
New to Talk Morgan
moggywills  Offline
New to Talk Morgan

Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 22
North Wales
Hi Guys

Anyone know whether Series 3 sensors are the same asSeries1 ?- The above post was not answered. My "SmartTire" system is constantly pointing to front offside being low on tyre pressure -but my tyre gauge confirms correct pressure. Recently a code E1 is displaying/flashing on monitor with a temp symbol. When I reset it takes about 20 min to trip again.


2006 Morgan Aero 8 Series 3 Green
2018 Mercedes GLC 350 Coupe AMG
2015 Countryman Cooper S ALL 4
Re: Aero 8 Tyre sensor [Re: Malcolm Hoar] #661535
10/09/20 09:08 PM
10/09/20 09:08 PM
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 115
Scotland
KevinMcR Offline
L - Learner Plates On
KevinMcR  Offline
L - Learner Plates On

Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 115
Scotland
I am considering trying to recomission my tpms and did a lot of googling around it. There were a number of places which said Aston Martin used Smartire but no real evidence it was the same as the morgan system but my logic is there was no way they would have redesigned the sensors for Morgan's very small numbers so logical to assume they used the same items?

There is an article discussing the Aston system at this url
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/asto...m-in-an-aston-martin-db9-or-vantage/amp/

Then found a Pistonheads thread discussing the system on Astons and a cheap alternative to buying from Aston here
https://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?t=1323659 so that eventually led me to this site https://www.alloywheelsdirect.net/tpms/huf_beru_tpms_sensors which seemed to offer new sensors at 88 quid for the rde011 even though Aston is not mentioned on the list of manufacturers.

Any opinions on whether any of this makes sense?

Re: Aero 8 Tyre sensor [Re: Malcolm Hoar] #661637
11/09/20 02:38 PM
11/09/20 02:38 PM
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,635
Buckinghamshire
NickCW Offline
Talk Morgan Enthusiast
NickCW  Offline
Talk Morgan Enthusiast

Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,635
Buckinghamshire
My local tyre fitter said he has sensors and kit that can be programmed into the system - think they are generic ones.
Will have to get him to fix the one faulty one I have, and if it works see if I can get the details..


Aero 8 S1
M3W - Green Shark

"What we do in life.. echoes in eternity."
Re: Aero 8 Tyre sensor [Re: Malcolm Hoar] #661662
11/09/20 04:18 PM
11/09/20 04:18 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,553
Sevenoaks,Kent
Viper Offline
Sir S1'a'lot
Viper  Offline
Sir S1'a'lot
Talk Morgan Enthusiast

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,553
Sevenoaks,Kent
If it’s any help I was quoted £800 to replace the 4 in my DBS whilst it was in for a service.

So let’s hope if they are Aston that you can buy them without Aston Added Tax.


2000 Plus 8 4.6
2002 Aero 8 S1
Re: Aero 8 Tyre sensor [Re: Malcolm Hoar] #661684
11/09/20 05:27 PM
11/09/20 05:27 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 26,255
Devonshire
+8Rich Online content
Member of the Inner Circle
+8Rich  Online Content
Member of the Inner Circle

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 26,255
Devonshire
My local tyre man showed me his DIY stuff to do this job as he had a MINI in with a faulty valve and programmed and fitted a new one for £40 which I thought was very reasonable.


Regards Richard

1999 Indigo Blue +8
2009 4/4 Sport Green prev
1994 Connaught Green +8 prev





Re: Aero 8 Tyre sensor [Re: Malcolm Hoar] #680579
30/12/20 04:11 PM
30/12/20 04:11 PM
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 115
Scotland
KevinMcR Offline
L - Learner Plates On
KevinMcR  Offline
L - Learner Plates On

Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 115
Scotland
Nick did you get the sensor done with your local tyre guy? I'm having a service and new pads fitted all round in March so if wheels are off may be the perfect time to get mine done if it works. Then just need to get the circuit board checked and repaired if required.

Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Moderated by  TalkMorgan 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1