Click here to return to the home page.
Image of a road.
Who's Online Now
20 registered members (John07, MorgantheFreeMan, Alistair, Andrew1806, Jacques, JMcL, BigSteve, Rob8, NeilMB, OZ 4/4, Heinz, MJF, Gordon D, M3W55, twotribes, AZJowett, pandy, DaveW, Ricardo, Paul F), 172 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Top Posters(30 Days)
John V6 355
+8Rich 242
TBM 161
CooperMan 116
Newest Topics
Magnecor leads
by thelastgizmo. 20/10/20 07:27 PM
Historic Vanwall to return
by DirkM. 20/10/20 05:01 PM
Westovers
by Viper. 20/10/20 04:52 PM
HD cyclecar...?
by Luddite. 20/10/20 03:09 PM
The speedometer has gone crazy
by Bilymog. 20/10/20 12:41 PM
Sevenoaks Audi rage..
by +8Rich. 19/10/20 09:42 PM
WHITE MORGAN IN BARRY TODAY
by Sinbad. 19/10/20 05:37 PM
Latest Photos
Malvern Show 2
Malvern Show 1
MGB`s can corrode..?
Winter Project
How now brown cow
Newest Members
Ingenious, JMT, Brian G, beetle back, Apple58
7185 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums34
Topics39,628
Posts655,265
Members7,185
Most Online1,033
Dec 28th, 2019
Today's Birthdays
Fergie, JMC06
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Outdoor temperature sensor #663544
22/09/20 11:10 AM
22/09/20 11:10 AM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 120
P
peterd Offline OP
L - Learner Plates On
peterd  Offline OP
L - Learner Plates On
P

Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 120
I found this outdoor temperature sensor on my +4 2L Duratec MY2010, located on the chassis front left side, just fixed wit a cable tie. Two questions:

1.Is this sensor active connected to the engine management ECU (I would guess yes, but I am not sure), or is it just a not used part of the original Mondeo/Duratec cable harness?

2. Could the signal be used (did anyone try?) for an outdoor temperature gauge?

Thanks for input

Peter

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Last edited by peterd; 22/09/20 11:11 AM.
Re: Outdoor temperature sensor [Re: peterd] #663551
22/09/20 11:55 AM
22/09/20 11:55 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 17,780
Suffolk
John V6 Offline
Member of the Inner Circle
John V6  Offline
Member of the Inner Circle

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 17,780
Suffolk
I guess MMC wouldn't fit it if it wasn't needed. But I have no idea. I have the torque app & an OBDII reader. The app doesn't show outside air temp as an available input.


JohnV6
2006 Indigo Blue Roadster S1
2014 Brooklands Edition Roadster "Brookland's Belle"
Re: Outdoor temperature sensor [Re: peterd] #663578
22/09/20 03:26 PM
22/09/20 03:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 18,788
South Yorkshire
DaveW Online content
Roadster Guru
DaveW  Online Content
Roadster Guru
Member of the Inner Circle

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 18,788
South Yorkshire
The S1 Roadster has a similar unit in that position. Maybe it's for cold starting and the right fuelling.


DaveW
2005 Corsa Red Roadster S1
2016 Saffron Yellow (Narrow) AR Plus 4
Re: Outdoor temperature sensor [Re: peterd] #663580
22/09/20 03:40 PM
22/09/20 03:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 225
Sandhurst, Berks
T
teknome Offline
L - Learner Plates On
teknome  Offline
L - Learner Plates On
T

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 225
Sandhurst, Berks
It is connected to the ECU, measures the ambient air temperature. Found one on my Plus 4 earlier this year. There is normally a temperature measurement upstream of the throttle body to check air temperature and make adjustments to fueling, not sure if this replaces that function. Will have to check the 'manual'


---------------------------
Mike Smith


1995 +8
2007 +4
Re: Outdoor temperature sensor [Re: peterd] #663581
22/09/20 03:50 PM
22/09/20 03:50 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,197
Staffordshire
IvorMog Offline
Has a lot to Say!
IvorMog  Offline
Has a lot to Say!

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,197
Staffordshire
I'm not a Duratec man but I would be surprised if this replaces the inlet air temperature sensor as it would not accurately monitor the temperature of the air going into the engine.

Maybe disconnect it and see if you get an OBD error code or engine fault light.

Currently debating the need for an outside air temperature gauge in a Morgan with SWMBO.


Bob

1999 4/4 2 litre Zetec
Re: Outdoor temperature sensor [Re: peterd] #663599
22/09/20 05:11 PM
22/09/20 05:11 PM
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,078
East Harling, Norfolk UK
Richard Wood Offline
Talk Morgan Addict
Richard Wood  Offline
Talk Morgan Addict

Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,078
East Harling, Norfolk UK
On my 3.7 V6 Roadster, strictly speaking also one of the Duratec family, I have both inlet and ambient air temperatures available to monitor on the OBD2 socket. If the four pot Duratec has similar maybe there is an OBD2 gauge available to display the temp on the dash.


Richard

2018 Roadster - Red/Magnolia - "Morton"
1966 Land Rover series 2a SWB
1960 Velocette Venom
Re: Outdoor temperature sensor [Re: peterd] #663607
22/09/20 05:53 PM
22/09/20 05:53 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,064
Sumerset
Rog Offline
Has a lot to Say!
Rog  Offline
Has a lot to Say!

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,064
Sumerset
Originally Posted by peterd
Is this sensor active connected to the engine management ECU (I would guess yes, but I am not sure), or is it just a not used part of the original Mondeo/Duratec cable harness?[/img]

The Duratec 4/4’s and plus 4’s use the regular Mk3 Mondeo ecu which has provision for a 2 wire outside air temp sensor connected between pin 8 and 91.


Roger
2011 Plus 4
Re: Outdoor temperature sensor [Re: peterd] #663673
22/09/20 10:25 PM
22/09/20 10:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 225
Sandhurst, Berks
T
teknome Offline
L - Learner Plates On
teknome  Offline
L - Learner Plates On
T

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 225
Sandhurst, Berks
The system overview of the Duratec 2.0L shows an outline picture of the ECU sensors, the device that I found mounted at the front of my Plus 4 is described it as the ambient air temperature sensor. I can't find any evidence of a temperature measurement in the inlet air flow, I have just checked through the Ford parts lists. There is no inlet air flow measurement as the engine load fueling is based on a MAP sensor. Not sure if you would need an accurate measurement of the actual temperature at the air intake, just use an ambient temperature measurement to add into the feed-forward calculation and let the O2 sensor feedback do the final trim.


---------------------------
Mike Smith


1995 +8
2007 +4
Re: Outdoor temperature sensor [Re: IvorMog] #663693
23/09/20 07:35 AM
23/09/20 07:35 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 24,541
Cheltenham, Glos. UK
Graham, G4FUJ Offline
Salty Sea Dog
Graham, G4FUJ  Offline
Salty Sea Dog
Member of the Inner Circle

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 24,541
Cheltenham, Glos. UK
Originally Posted by IvorMog
Currently debating the need for an outside air temperature gauge in a Morgan with SWMBO.

Bob, I put a cheap temperature and humidity gauge on my dashboard. Sufficient for my use. smile


Graham (G4FUJ)

D8921 L44FOR '93 4/4 Giallo Fly 2 seat smile
'90 LR 90 SW
'06 Saab 9-3 Convertible
Re: Outdoor temperature sensor [Re: peterd] #663695
23/09/20 07:44 AM
23/09/20 07:44 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 17,780
Suffolk
John V6 Offline
Member of the Inner Circle
John V6  Offline
Member of the Inner Circle

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 17,780
Suffolk
I just stick a hand above the screen.
Hand wet raining
Can't see hand fog
Hand blue very cold
Hand red , hot & sunny
Hand stinging , hail
Hand covered in white, snow
Hand gone, not in the car
laugh2


JohnV6
2006 Indigo Blue Roadster S1
2014 Brooklands Edition Roadster "Brookland's Belle"
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Aeroman, Simon 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1