Click here to return to the home page.
Morgan 3 Wheeler
Who's Online Now
25 registered members (Mark H, keithA, Ron C, Ian Wegg, Robbie, Stewart S, HeadlessBlue, SCX358G, Cuna2016, Berlin, JBu1, CooperMan, DJC, JohnHarris, Jon G4LJW, V8Dave, Tim Crump, nick w, madmax, ChrisP, Grumpy2, John07, milligoon, westgardronning, pandy), 198 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Top Posters(30 Days)
+8Rich 328
John V6 288
Alistair 155
Peter J 147
Newest Topics
Lockdown OCD
by John V6. 20/01/21 11:20 AM
Selling a Morgan in lockdown
by M3W55. 20/01/21 09:18 AM
classictravellinglug
gage.com

by +8Rich. 19/01/21 11:15 PM
Mini build...
by Grumpy2. 19/01/21 09:04 PM
Gas Smell
by KenShapiro. 19/01/21 06:58 PM
Ball Joint removal tool
by Bluesman. 19/01/21 05:55 PM
MORGAN WEST Garage collection tour
by Jacques. 19/01/21 04:20 PM
Latest Photos
TOK 258 drawings
Two Approaches to the Easy Up Hood Stay
Vaccine is totally safe
Boddam and Ravenscraig
First post
Newest Members
dodol, John Welch, CityGarage, Uzi, 1thebeano
7333 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums34
Topics40,300
Posts671,322
Members7,333
Most Online1,033
Dec 28th, 2019
Today's Birthdays
Katanazz, Rho8
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 5 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: Speedometer Calibration [Re: LightSpeed] #671133
05/11/20 10:53 PM
05/11/20 10:53 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 79
H
Hogzilla Offline
Just Getting Started
Hogzilla  Offline
Just Getting Started
H

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 79
Originally Posted by LightSpeed
I use the gps unit for the speed.


This gas gauge is an odd duck. It says I was pretty low the other day and all it would take was 4 gallons. do they have an idiot built in reserve so when it is at 0% you still have a couple of gallons? I also noticed on the tach that the gas gauge is there and there is a 0/0 that is on the left of the digital screen. What is that? I haven't found anything in the owners manual or maybe I have and did not know it. I need to just use the odometer as my gas gauge like I do on my BMW motorcycle. Their gas gauge is a joke as well. I ran out of gas and the gauge was showing a little less than half a tank.

Re: Speedometer Calibration [Re: planenut] #671136
05/11/20 10:58 PM
05/11/20 10:58 PM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 116
Las Vegas
JohnMat Offline
L - Learner Plates On
JohnMat  Offline
L - Learner Plates On

Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 116
Las Vegas
The 0/0 is a really cheesy per-cent sign.

There is a discussion about how to (slightly) improve the fuel gauge by changing to a 280mm sender with a correcting shunt resistor in this lengthy thread.


2020 M3W
Re: Speedometer Calibration [Re: planenut] #671137
05/11/20 11:01 PM
05/11/20 11:01 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 2,885
Port Orchard, WA.
LightSpeed Offline
Talk Morgan Expert
LightSpeed  Offline
Talk Morgan Expert

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 2,885
Port Orchard, WA.
Yes, several gallons below the bottom of the sender.




Last edited by LightSpeed; 05/11/20 11:01 PM.

Stephen
2019 M3W, AR Stage 2

Re: Speedometer Calibration [Re: JohnMat] #671143
05/11/20 11:58 PM
05/11/20 11:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 79
H
Hogzilla Offline
Just Getting Started
Hogzilla  Offline
Just Getting Started
H

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 79
Originally Posted by JohnMat
The 0/0 is a really cheesy per-cent sign.

There is a discussion about how to (slightly) improve the fuel gauge by changing to a 280mm sender with a correcting shunt resistor in this lengthy thread.


Are you SERIOUS??? 0/0 is a percentage sign??? Well thank you for solving that mystery. I am not going to go to great lengths worrying about the gauge. I will start by finding a comfortable mileage and use the tripometer as my gauge. Done it for so long on other things that it is no big deal.

Re: Speedometer Calibration [Re: planenut] #671145
06/11/20 01:16 AM
06/11/20 01:16 AM
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 475
SW Iowa, U.S.A.
Bitsobrits Offline
Learner Plates Off!
Bitsobrits  Offline
Learner Plates Off!

Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 475
SW Iowa, U.S.A.
These are indeed quirky machines. The fuel gauge is pretty much useless. Mine sometimes give me a reading that seems close to actual, but mostly reads 0. I've had it out to clean and inspect the float wires (inside the alloy tube) a few times now. Sort of works for a tank full, maybe two, then back to 0.

My personal strategy is to fill up until I get an auto click off (one time) then reset the trip odometer. I start looking for gas when I get to 180-200 miles on the trip meter. Never had an issue with that.

Some have reported issues (check engine light and rough running for a short while) when they try to fill the tanks 'up to the brim'.


Steve
2012 M3W



Re: Speedometer Calibration [Re: planenut] #671171
06/11/20 09:07 AM
06/11/20 09:07 AM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,788
Aberdeenshire
T
TimG Offline
Talk Morgan Enthusiast
TimG  Offline
Talk Morgan Enthusiast
T

Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,788
Aberdeenshire
My speedo is not a constant 5mph high its near 10% through the range so indicated 30mph is really 28mph & indicated 70 is actually 65. All speedos legally cannot under read but can be upto 10% optimistic.

Last edited by TimG; 06/11/20 09:10 AM.
Re: Speedometer Calibration [Re: planenut] #671180
06/11/20 09:33 AM
06/11/20 09:33 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 18,741
Suffolk
John V6 Online content
Member of the Inner Circle
John V6  Online Content
Member of the Inner Circle

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 18,741
Suffolk
My Roadster under reads by 10% but MMC says it is legal. Another feature! I fitted a GPS speedo off fleabay as belt and braces


JohnV6
2006 Indigo Blue Roadster S1
2014 Brooklands Edition Roadster "Brookland's Belle" #5 of 50
Re: Speedometer Calibration [Re: John V6] #671188
06/11/20 10:11 AM
06/11/20 10:11 AM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 3,676
Essex
Burgundymog Offline
Talk Morgan Addict
Burgundymog  Offline
Talk Morgan Addict

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 3,676
Essex
Originally Posted by John V6
My Roadster under reads by 10% but MMC says it is legal. Another feature! I fitted a GPS speedo off fleabay as belt and braces


MMC is wrong, all manufacturers are required to fit speedometers that do not under read that is why most over read by 10% it is to protect your licence. It is possible to re-calibrate your electronic speedo using the reset button I think there was a post on here once.


Keith
2013 narrow bodied + 4 Ruby.
Re: Speedometer Calibration [Re: planenut] #671229
06/11/20 12:13 PM
06/11/20 12:13 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 70
L
linklaw Offline
Just Getting Started
linklaw  Offline
Just Getting Started
L

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 70
I used a cheap door bell button and a couple of pieces of wire to recalibrate my speedometer. The instructions to do so are in an article in the Morgan Club newsletter and are linked to in the first post on this thread.. I played around with mine and got the speed shown to match up with the GPS speedo on my phone.

John

Last edited by linklaw; 06/11/20 12:17 PM.
Re: Speedometer Calibration [Re: planenut] #671260
06/11/20 02:24 PM
06/11/20 02:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 2,885
Port Orchard, WA.
LightSpeed Offline
Talk Morgan Expert
LightSpeed  Offline
Talk Morgan Expert

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 2,885
Port Orchard, WA.
Now that you have your doorbell button you need to find the magic wire.

I gave up and just use the gps.


Stephen
2019 M3W, AR Stage 2

Page 5 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Moderated by  TalkMorgan 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1