Click here to return to the home page.
Morgan 3 Wheeler
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Bitsobrits), 99 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Top Posters(30 Days)
+8Rich 393
John V6 191
TBM 134
CooperMan 117
Hamwich 103
Newest Members
Bill Box, John H, Colin McFadden, N2S3, Davetherave
7656 Registered Users
Newest Topics
2016 Roadster. Head light questions
by Davetherave. 24/09/21 05:21 PM
Front steering geometry
by PaulJ. 24/09/21 02:47 PM
Footwell light cover
by Alan Patterson. 24/09/21 01:22 PM
M3W interest..?
by Luddite. 24/09/21 12:57 PM
Mike Duncan
by john humphreys. 24/09/21 08:36 AM
“The Very Last of the M3W”
by IMHO. 23/09/21 09:03 PM
Unknown badge.
by Grumpy2. 23/09/21 07:23 PM
Latest Photos
Reinforced battery cradle for 2015 4/4
And for my next trick...
Guernsey Escape
Another Bride, Another Vroom
Madeira
Forum Statistics
Forums34
Topics42,108
Posts705,984
Members7,656
Most Online1,033
Dec 28th, 2019
Today's Birthdays
chocadoodledoo, Phil C
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
An idiots guide to M3W ECU's #703473
15/05/21 08:02 PM
15/05/21 08:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 640
France
Black Adder Offline OP
Toys for Boys
Black Adder  Offline OP
Toys for Boys
Talk Morgan Regular

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 640
France
Dear Hive Mind.

I'm trying to get my head around the ECU situation on the M3W as I can't find a comprehensive summary anywhere.
Here are my assumptions - can you correct me if any of these statements are wrong and help with my questions.
Please feel free to treat me as an idiot - the ECU seems to be a 'black art' that I'd like to understand.

Morgan have used the same S&S ECU for all 10 years of production P/N 55-0732.
Earlier ECU's used USB Mini B type, later ones use USB-C.
Morgan lock the ECU when programmed and there is no way to unlock a locked ECU.
The software on the ECU is loaded via a 'box file' (mapping).
The Box File for Euro 3 and Euro 4 M3W's are different.
Euro 4 M3W's modified to Euro 3 look are fitted with Euro 3 mapping.
Stage 1 upgrades (exhaust & air filter) will run on a standard locked ECU.
Stage 2 upgrades (exhaust, air filter and 569 cams) require an unlocked ECU and appropriate box file, ideally adjusted on a dyno

S&S Unlocked ECU's are unavailable (possibly long term).
G56 have the Emerald alternative programmable ECU mapped for stage 2 upgrades.
Krazy Horse say they 're-flash' the ECU but how do they re-flash a locked ECU?

Questions -
Is there base software on the ECU that you upload the box file to?
Is that software available on the S&S website?
Is the base software different for Euro 3 and Euro 4 cars or is it the same?

Are there any other alternatives to an (unavailable) S&S unlocked ECU other than Garage 56?


Omne trium perfectum
Re: An idiots guide to M3W ECU's [Re: Black Adder] #703479
15/05/21 08:26 PM
15/05/21 08:26 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 382
Auckland New Zealand
P964 Offline
Learner Plates Off!
P964  Offline
Learner Plates Off!

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 382
Auckland New Zealand
My two penny worth

I have 2012 car with std locked ecu.
Over the years I have added the urban cooling fan which required an ECU programme change. The file was supplied via Morgan on email and I uploaded it to the ECU using the Protune software ex S&S site.

Up load takes 30 secs tops

The fan kit had two files, one for Euro and one for US.

Re: An idiots guide to M3W ECU's [Re: Black Adder] #703480
15/05/21 08:46 PM
15/05/21 08:46 PM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,247
West Sussex, UK
Chris99 Offline
Talk Morgan Addict
Chris99  Offline
Talk Morgan Addict

Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,247
West Sussex, UK
My two penneth on some of the points/questions:

Morgan have used the same S&S ECU for all 10 years of production P/N 55-0732. I believe so.
Earlier ECU's used USB Mini B type, later ones use USB-C. - yes
Morgan lock the ECU when programmed and there is no way to unlock a locked ECU. - yes, you need the unlock code which only Morgan have. (S&S probably have the code as well but won't disclose it).
The software on the ECU is loaded via a 'box file' (mapping). - yes
The Box File for Euro 3 and Euro 4 M3W's are different. - yes, based on the experience of AndyJazz
Euro 4 M3W's modified to Euro 3 look are fitted with Euro 3 mapping. - again, based on the experience of AndyJazz this is likely to be the case
Stage 1 upgrades (exhaust & air filter) will run on a standard locked ECU. - yes
Stage 2 upgrades (exhaust, air filter and 569 cams) require an unlocked ECU and appropriate box file, ideally adjusted on a dyno - yes.
Note, Stage 2 will run on the standard, locked ECU but will throw up engine check light and fault codes as the fuelling goes out of the ECU adaptive range.


S&S Unlocked ECU's are unavailable (possibly long term).This is undetermined. At the moment there seems to be no more unlocked S&S ECU's available but we don't know whether there may be more produced. An existing locked ECU could be unlocked with the appropriate unlock code. It's worth noting the ECUs are locked to comply with national emissions regulations and once the M3W goes out of production (next month?) we may be able to persuade MMC to provide the unlock code.
G56 have the Emerald alternative programmable ECU mapped for stage 2 upgrades. - yes, they can supply an Emerald ECU with a M3W Stage 2 map although this is currently out of stock. The Emerald ECU can be bought direct from Emerald, the key is the map.
Krazy Horse say they 're-flash' the ECU but how do they re-flash a locked ECU?They don't, they flash an unlocked ECU and when on the dyno they live tune it.

Questions -
Is there base software on the ECU that you upload the box file to?The S&S unlocked ECU is supplied with a number of standard base maps based on check box options. For example 596 cams yes/no. The standard KH Based map and Stage 2 maps are out in the TM community and can be emailed around for upload to an unlocked ECU using Protune.
Is that software available on the S&S website? Not that I'm aware of. Protune is available via the S&S site but you'll need a suitable M3W box file
Is the base software different for Euro 3 and Euro 4 cars or is it the same?Different to meet the EU3 vs EU4 emissions regulations. A EU3 car is mapped for 82 bhp, 140 Nm torque, 215 g/Km CO2 whilst a EU4 is mapped for 68 bhp, 129 Nm, 187 g/Km CO2

Are there any other alternatives to an (unavailable) S&S unlocked ECU other than Garage 56? -Yes, there are several aftermarket ECUs but I don't know of any with a S&S map.


Red Leader drive
Re: An idiots guide to M3W ECU's [Re: Black Adder] #703489
15/05/21 10:27 PM
15/05/21 10:27 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 3,361
Port Orchard, WA.
LightSpeed Offline
Talk Morgan Addict
LightSpeed  Offline
Talk Morgan Addict

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 3,361
Port Orchard, WA.
S&S said that they will sell an unlocked ECU but do not have the maps for the Morgan and indicated that the START function was not part of their normal Tune.

So what is keeping anyone from obtaining a MAP from another source, like a TM member, and downloading it onto a clean ECU?


Last edited by LightSpeed; 15/05/21 10:27 PM.
Re: An idiots guide to M3W ECU's [Re: Black Adder] #703490
15/05/21 10:31 PM
15/05/21 10:31 PM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,469
Cheshire, UK
nippymog Offline
Has a lot to Say!
nippymog  Offline
Has a lot to Say!

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,469
Cheshire, UK
So what is keeping anyone from obtaining a MAP from another source, like a TM member, and downloading it onto a clean ECU?

My understanding is - In theory nothing.

Re: An idiots guide to M3W ECU's [Re: nippymog] #703495
16/05/21 12:10 AM
16/05/21 12:10 AM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 3,361
Port Orchard, WA.
LightSpeed Offline
Talk Morgan Addict
LightSpeed  Offline
Talk Morgan Addict

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 3,361
Port Orchard, WA.
Originally Posted by nippymog
So what is keeping anyone from obtaining a MAP from another source, like a TM member, and downloading it onto a clean ECU?

My understanding is - In theory nothing.


And the knowledge on how to do it.

Re: An idiots guide to M3W ECU's [Re: LightSpeed] #703555
16/05/21 04:38 PM
16/05/21 04:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,247
West Sussex, UK
Chris99 Offline
Talk Morgan Addict
Chris99  Offline
Talk Morgan Addict

Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,247
West Sussex, UK
Originally Posted by LightSpeed
Originally Posted by nippymog
So what is keeping anyone from obtaining a MAP from another source, like a TM member, and downloading it onto a clean ECU?

My understanding is - In theory nothing.


And the knowledge on how to do it.


Simple, just use Protune to load the new map.


Red Leader drive
Re: An idiots guide to M3W ECU's [Re: Black Adder] #703603
17/05/21 12:31 AM
17/05/21 12:31 AM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 3,361
Port Orchard, WA.
LightSpeed Offline
Talk Morgan Addict
LightSpeed  Offline
Talk Morgan Addict

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 3,361
Port Orchard, WA.
Does the Tuning “map” have the other things that are required, like the starting sequence and all the idiot lamps and gauge info?

The EmerLd does not have a Check Engine Lamp programmed into it which sort of makes you wonder what else was left out.

It would be great to get an ECU and have the ability to mirror it completely. I did not notice anything like that in ProTune.
.

Last edited by LightSpeed; 17/05/21 12:32 AM.
Re: An idiots guide to M3W ECU's [Re: Black Adder] #703957
20/05/21 02:31 AM
20/05/21 02:31 AM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 3,361
Port Orchard, WA.
LightSpeed Offline
Talk Morgan Addict
LightSpeed  Offline
Talk Morgan Addict

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 3,361
Port Orchard, WA.
I have a question about mounting the factory ecu. There are two bolts that mount the cable end of the unit to the frame. The question is , are there two nylon fat washers that act as standoffs? Or are they just fat washers on top of the ecu mounting the ecu flat onto the frame mounting plate?

Or another possibility for those two washers might have to do with the tachometer or speedometer mounting?

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]


Last edited by LightSpeed; 20/05/21 02:43 AM.
Re: An idiots guide to M3W ECU's [Re: Black Adder] #703965
20/05/21 06:23 AM
20/05/21 06:23 AM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 466
Hertfordshire
O
Obie Offline
Learner Plates Off!
Obie  Offline
Learner Plates Off!
O

Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 466
Hertfordshire
Looked at the parts list and the washers are not shown. On other vehicles I have seen people mount the ECU is using Velcro to give it some vibration protection.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Moderated by  TalkMorgan 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1