Talk Morgan

Comfortable driving distances in a Morgan

Posted By: HeadlessBlue

Comfortable driving distances in a Morgan - 13/01/19 12:19 PM

Hi. Hoping to tap into the Google app known as The Morgan Massive please. Not sure if this is the right forum but as a newbie I thought other potential newbies may also be curious. If wrong, apologies.
Please can anyone suggest what is a comfortable time/distance to drive in a Morgan in a single session/day (ignoring ablution stops/char breaks)? Myself and Lady H are looking at planning trips for post 15th March (when my Plus 4 is born, full grown) and considering places such as Cornwall (approx 5 hours and 300 miles from home) or west coast of Scotland (9 hours non stop and just over 500 miles-yes I am now singing the Proclaimers).
I should state that I am the one who enjoys driving the long distances but I want to be fair to Lady H so that she (and to be fair I have a dodgy back) and I don’t need a hoist to get out of the car at the end of the journey!!! For info we are getting the 110 “sports performance seats” if that makes a difference. The last time I took a test drive was about 8-10 years ago from the factory and I seem to recall pottering around for a day seemed fairly trouble free from a comfort point of view but it was a leisurely pace with multiple stops for photos!
Many thanks
HB
Posted By: Hamwich

Re: Comfortable driving distances in a Morgan - 13/01/19 12:25 PM

Depends on how many breaks you take, I reckon. Just stopping for fuel and biobreaks I'm happy doing 300 miles, with a longer stop for lunch or whatever then 400 miles is no problem. Personally I would say that 500 miles / 9 hours is a bit of a stretch.
Posted By: N22MOG

Re: Comfortable driving distances in a Morgan - 13/01/19 12:26 PM

Furthest I’ve driven in a day is Kent to The Lake District, just over 300 miles and around 6 hours, no problems with comfort but it was mostly motorway so not the most enjoyable route in a Morgan.
Posted By: Stewart S